Skip Global Navigation to Main Content
Skip Breadcrumb Navigation
About the Embassy

Who We Are & What We Do

Mission Statement

The mission of the U.S. Department of State – the equivalent of what most countries call a ministry of foreign affairs – is to create a more secure, democratic, and prosperous world for the benefit of the American people and the international community. 

With this goal in mind, the U.S. Embassy in Reykjavik works with leaders, institutions, and citizens of the U.S. and Iceland to maintain and broaden the close political, economic, security, cultural, and personal ties between the two nations.   


The Embassy is staffed by 12 American and about 32 locally engaged employees of the Department of State, divided into several sections. Additional information on Embassy sections.

Coordination With Other U.S. Agencies

The Embassy draws support from representatives of other U.S. government agencies in the region or in Washington. These non-resident colleagues coordinate with the Embassy and with the government of Iceland through periodic visits, videoconferences, and other contacts, on such topics as:

  • Defense: The United States remains commited to honoring the bilateral U.S.-Iceland defense agreement. Since 2005 the Defense Attaché at the U.S. Embassy in Oslo has been accredited to the Government of Iceland, providing Embassy Reykjavik with expertise on military arrangements, operations, and assistance in support of efforts to transform U.S.-Iceland security cooperation to face emerging 21st Century threats such as terrorism and trafficking. In 2007 an Assistant Defense Attaché reporting to the Attaché in Oslo was assigned to the Embassy to support ongoing efforts to enhance security cooperation.

Together, the Ambassador, Deputy Chief of Mission, and section chiefs are referred to as the “Country Team.”

The Country Team

Title Name
Ambassador Robert C. Barber
Deputy Chief of Mission: Paul O'Friel 
Defense Attaché: Colonel Carlos Rice                              
Economic/Commercial Officer: Rebecca Owen
Management Officer: Thomas Kohl
Political Officer: Wendy Stancer
Public Affairs Officer: Brian Beckmann
Regional Security Officer: Michael Lodi
Consular Officer: Matthew Horner